34/52

August 26, 2011 at 12:06 pm | Posted in Film, Project 52 | Leave a comment


 34/52, originally uploaded by ChrisSinn.

Trial shot…

A few months ago, late one night I’d been looking through my old pictures, both digital, and film, with some being from my Yashica medium format camera, and I’d been really impressed with the quality of the film pictures.

When I say quality, I don’t mean the sort of thing normally bandied around in some web forums – corner sharpness, 100% crop, and all the associated waffle that some people seemed to get over concerned with (normally the people with technically wonderful shots, but leaving something to be desired on the content front – not that I’m claiming to be any sort of master photographer by any means!!), but just that the film pics seemed to have a bit more character than some of the digital stuff.

Anyway, to cut a long and boring story short, I decided that night to purchase myself a medium format SLR camera – the Yash is brilliant, but you are limited by it being a single focal length camera, so I wanted something with a bunch of interchangeable lenses, to give me a bit more flexibility.

After a bit of research and a lot of looking around at camera fairs and e-bay, two (!) Bronica SQ-Ai’s  dropped on the doormat a couple of weeks ago (actually they were delivered next door…) and so it was on to trialling them, just making sure they actually work. It was a happy accident – I’d lost a bid on a full kit including camera and 3 lenses and a whole bunch of other stuff, so I bid on a single camera which I won. I was then offered a second chance on the original kit which seemed too good to turn down, and voilà, you can’t move for cameras in the house now!

They do work, and this pic is from an hour spent in the garden messing around with lenses and an extension tube – it’s going to be an interesting learning curve!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

