37/52

September 16, 2011 at 3:56 pm | Posted in Project 52 | Leave a comment


 37/52, originally uploaded by ChrisSinn.

Fyfe in full flow!

It is that time of year when Artsfest hits town – 3000 artists, 600 events at 50 venues across Birmingham City centre for one weekend only! Unfortunately it coincides with a weekend where there is so much else to do that squeezing it all in is a bit of a nightmare. It’s also a Flickrmeet!

I started off the weekend with fellow photographer Dan, in the Jewellery Quarter, at Newman Brothers Coffin Fittings Factory – this is an old factory that is currently being restored as a museum by Birmingham Conservation Trust – I’d been there before, but wanted to improve my photography so went again – not sure if I was totally successful, but I enjoyed it all the same.

After that it was into the festival to enjoy some music – I’m not sure I really like taking photos of bands I don’t know (and aren’t they all young these days!!), but I did enjoy the whole event – rasta poets, tabla players and the odd indie band chucked in for good measure.

Highlight of the weekend was getting into the press pit for the headline act (thanks Katie!) The Guillemots were as good as I hoped they’d be, and I even got a few shots too! It’s a bit of a challenge to get anything half decent – the lighting is constantly changing, the performers don’t stop moving and it’s really quite dark – added to that a black stage and a dodgy focussing lens, it’s a surprise I got anything! Shooting at ISO 3200 in some cases, I was thankful for the new camera – it seems to handle the extreme conditions much better than my old 40D – but I may have to send my big lens away for re-calibration – not good!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

